Bluer's Blog

My Tips for Art (That Helped Me, and Might Help You Too)

Image

Work With What You Have

I can't begin to remember how many times I've heard of someone buying expensive art supplies and still end up being dissatisfied with their art. I hate to admit it, but I've made the same mistake myself.

Start with what you've got. When I was a kid, I loved picking up pencils, pens, and scratch paper that was littered around my school's hallways and use them for drawing later. It gave me plenty to work with, and hey, I'm sure that the janitors appreciated it!

Point is that you should try to at least start with what you've got, or at the very least try not to dump too much into it right at the get-go. If you want to get into a specific medium, go for a couple very cheap supplies and only upgrade when you KNOW you'll need it.

Want to learn figure art but can't afford a mannequin? Try checking WikiMedia Commons for good reference images, or use an online tool like PoseMy.art for great, free options. YMMV of course, I'm sure that there are ways to use even more programs like Blender to make a proper model and reference that, but I'm merely scratching the surface with just a couple of quick examples.

Dare to Experiment

Image

I agree that it's good to focus and try to get better in art, it's good to at least branch out enough so you get the chance to stretch your legs and keep the creative juices going. Try other types of crafts when you get the chance, like if you enjoy drawing with a pencil and paper, try and adding in some markers. Or alternatively, switch to using clay or paints.

Something I've really enjoyed doing is Origami, not as a profession of course but as a hobby. All you need is a bit of paper and some instructions (I admit I've made enough paper cranes that I can now make them from memory!). When you have the chance, branch out and see what you enjoy and expand your horizons.

Collaborate and Cooperate

Image

One more thing I'd like to touch on is talking with other artists. Not just the ones that make the same kind of thing you make, but really anything! Other artists can help you get ideas, criticism, and opportunities for your next pieces, on top of providing a fun and creative environment.